Love Affair

The first time we were planning a beach vacation Bhaiya and A said they would join in as well. For convenience of lounging around, talking late in to the night and feeling a home, all of us decided renting a condo made much more sense than taking individual rooms in a hotel. Since the cost would be split two ways we also agreed it made more sense to pay a little extra but stay on the beach. We looked for ocean front condos only. First step in to our condo all those years back and I was in love.

Closing your eyes as the sounds of the waves lull you to sleep, the cool ocean breeze soothing you, waking up to the peace and quiet, leaving first footprints of the day on the sand – LOVE!

The one time we stayed in a resort, the crowd, the beach lined with recliners and umbrellas, the distance from room to the beach – all things considered it was not my idea of a beach vacation.

This time around we booked a ground floor condo. The kids had to walk the patio, grass and sand to get to the water. The look on their faces – priceless! With almost no one around, they ran along playing with boogey boards, collecting flowers and leaves from the garden, collecting stones and shells from the sand, swimming in the water looking for fishes, making sand castles, coves and dams.

Picture1

Endless games and they would step home the minute they were tired. There was food cooked per their taste, there were naps when they were sleepy, there were very few long rides in the car. It was all about staying put and having fun.

We added another snorkeler to our family and she could not have enough. Buzz and D would head out to the ocean every morning with smiles and come back excited about some fish they saw.

Picture2

Bugz, our little stickler for order and cleanliness, did not like having her feet dirty. She decided very quickly that the grass and the water were for her but the sand was not. Which meant someone had to ferry her around on the sandy parts, till she saw the rest of us having fun making sandcastles and would forget all about the dirt and join in.

D, got to snorkel to his heart content. He was happy with the fishes he saw, excited about the blue, green, pink, white corals but that he came across a giant turtle on our last evening there was the highlight of his trip.

As for me, I had my early morning runs on the beach, I had my time playing with the kids in the water and in the yard, I had my snorkeling trip, I had my sunsets, I had my perfect relaxing vacation!

Picture3

As we left the airport, I looked down at this view. It is breathtaking and I am glad we got our little peace of paradise in the paradise islands.

Picture4

As I told D “My love affair continues!”

21 thoughts on “Love Affair

  1. Beautiful, beautiful pics. Sounds like the perfect beach vacation. 🙂

    I love beaches and beach holidays, too. However, I have always stayed in a resort – never had the chance to stay in a property right on the beach. Would love to do that sometime!

  2. This looks like such a lovely vacation! When we did scuba diving recently, we also did snorkeling, and I can totally understand the joy it would give to D and buzz.

    Holidays are nice. And just reading about such well spent holidays makes me all happy. I have never stayed in a condo. I think, I should definitely try it someday.

  3. What a beautiful and relaxing vacation for everyone, I want it too!! 🙂
    Where did you go exactly? I’m trying to plan my next vacation! 😉

  4. I want vacation. I want vacation. My brain demands one every 3 months. Let me go plan one now..

    As usual Comfy, I loved your post. With 4 kids, it must have been double the fun!

  5. that’s the perfect way to spend a vacation.. I would say my kind .. Not the 7 day packed disney tour that only leaves us only exhausted to return to normal life..

Leave a Reply

