Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

“Let’s go skiing on Saturday,” he said.
“I am done for the season,” she said.
“We will have fun! Come on,” he said.
“The day trip tires me out completely and I need some rest,” she said.

Back and forth, they went and a compromise was made. Weekend trip to the mountains, a place to stay the night, no TV, no internet.

“Deal!”
“Deal”

********

“Mandola! Me go mandola pe!”
“Gondola baby, Gondola!”
“Noooooo, madola!”

*********

The look in their eyes, the smile on their face, the bounce in their steps as they enter the Gondola, the chant of “Mandola..Mandola..Mandola!” which of course resulted in me singing the song and the two every excited kids asking their questions:

“What is Matru?”
“and Bijlee?”

Mandola, needs no explanation!

*********

The Gondola climbed up at a steady pace and Buzz finally looked around and saw the slope. Her face dropped immediately

“This is a big cliff. I will fall coming down.”
“We will come down an easier slope,” D told her with a smile.

**********

While Buzz and D did their trips up and down the mountain, Bugz and I build snow castle and snow car and snow bus and snowman, all while I took in the view and iced …errr snowed my backside (which I hurt in a fall down the stairs that morning)

***********

The evening was spend fighting over a place to sleep

“I want to sleep on the high bed,” she said.
“It does not have a protection bar, you will fall!” they said.
“I will not! I want to sleep up there,” she stubbornly repeated.

“Me sleep on baby bed,” she said.
“Yeah ‘me’ can sleep on baby bed,” they said.

***********

Finally Buzz did sleep on the top bunk of the bunk bed while we stuffed pillows around her.

Bugz, who wanted to sleep on the trundle bed was forced to sleep on the lower bunk of the bunk bed. And the trundle was left outside to catch either of them, if they fell.

***********

Somewhere in the middle of night, I woke up with a *puduk*. I looked up to see Bugz on the trundle but continuing to sleep. I poked D and he switched her back to the bunk bed.

Next was some *bump*.
“I did not fall, I did not fall! I jumped because I wanted to go to the restroom,” Buzz kept repeating as she ran off.

***********

Morning came with breakfast of eggs and pancakes and it was back up the Mandola. Back to singing, back to skiing, back to playing with snow and back to the amazing view.

View

 

 

9 thoughts on “Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola

  1. Looks like you guys had a great time!! The snow has been amazing too this season and its been precious fun up the mountains!! 🙂

  2. you fell?? Sab theek na..that ankle of yours didnt bother right?

    Sigh! What fun…when I was a kid, I always wanted to buy a bunk bed…Amma Appa didnt agree and I guess couldnt afford as well 🙂 If R ever gets a sibling, I am buying a bunk bed (honestly thats the only one which will accommodate two kids in that tiny room of ours hehehe!)

  3. What fun! You must be seriously talented to make a car,bus ,castle out of snow! Can’t wait to go up in a ‘mandola’ and ski down with our little one. I am terrible at it though and am hoping she inherits her dad’s agility and love for sports. Hope your back isn’t too bad .

  4. OUCH… buzz fell .. did i read right.. and phewwwwww next day back to normal yayyyyyyyyyyyy ..

    this time it did not snow at all here so no snowman or castles or anything this side .. and you posted this just to make me Jealous .. hana ..

    and heloooooooooooo How are you and how are the little ones …

Leave a Reply

