Action are louder than words

Bugz took her own time to talk. There was no forcing her, no hurrying her. Any request to say something was met with only one word, ‘no’ (yes, that one she learned very early). Then randomly she would say something and it would be near perfect pronunciation. There was no made up words Buzz style. This is not to say she did not have her quirks.

Give her something and ask her, ‘what do you say Bugz?’

‘Wacome’, was her reply.

The day she actually said, ‘Thankoo’, my heart broke a little.

She has a lot of words now. She talks constantly in-fact, trying out new words and stringing them in sentences. But there are some things where actions are still more appropriate.

Bugz and I were at her doctor’s office. While we waited in the room for the doctor to come we heard a baby crying in the room next to ours. Bugz looked up from her game and said,

Baby aaaiii wain aaaiii wain *actual crying noise*

*****************************

While out in the park we saw a mother struggle with her toddler kid. The mother wanted to leave, the kid wanted to continue playing. Bugz looked on with a lot of interest and then turned to me,

Baby wain wain..MummaΒ daant *tapping her hand on her cheek*

*****************************

Bugz in my lap just after I came back home in the evening, I asked her what she did all day

Me Anyan (the boy next door) car brr brr brr drive *all the while pretending to hold the steering wheel in her hand*

*****************************

‘What are you doing Bugz’, I ask her as I see her playing in her crib.

Bhoo bhoo nini *pushing a blanket on her stuffed dog*
Baby nini *pushing a blanket on her doll*
Me nini *pulling the blanket on herself and shutting her eyes tight*

*****************************

Mumma Mumma didi..

she shouted as she comes to find me. ‘What happened to didi’, I ask in a worried voice

Didi *pretends to pick up water and pour it over her head*

‘Aah didi nahie nahie’, I ask her. A nod, a huge smile and she walks away to play in the water while didi takes her bath.

*****************************

The garage door opens and she runs downstairs.

Papa mumma …… me no … phoo phoo

‘Mumma is making roti. Bugz no touch. Very hot’, comes D’s voice and a laughing sound from the little one

*****************************

‘Bugz what did you do over the weekend’, asked her nanny on Monday.

Aunty me light..phutak phutak.. *using her hands to show all around her*

‘You burst crackers for Diwali?’, aunty asks. She nods, smiles and says,

HaaappyDiaai Aunty

*****************************

20 thoughts on “Action are louder than words

  1. It’s cute and love the way u bring her up..no need to hurry and give her time. Sadly, there are so many people who freak up and pushes the child to speak fast..it’s not good. Kudos, lady:)

    1. I think this knowledge comes with time. We learn to give them the space and time they need. I was not this a few years back, so in that sense my kids are teaching me how to be a better mom πŸ™‚

  2. Awwwwww! I just got back from a holiday where I met the chaddi buddy’s 2.5 year old. And she was replete with such wrong pronunciations that totally had me holding on to her every word. By the last day when she went from Rocky maasi to calling me by my correct name, my heart more than broke a little.
    I hope she continues to talk like this a little longer. I can totally imagine her American twang mixed Hindi πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

