Journey..Friends..Introductions

When in a group, I find little need to say anything. When everyone is talking, I rather sit back and listen. Till I am not sure I have something that adds to the conversation, I mostly don’t say anything. I guess as per standard behavioral labels, one can say, from an introvert child, I grew in to an introvert adult.

This blog is probably one of the few truly out of charter things I have ever done. But true to nature I have tried to keep it as anonymous as I possibly can in the world of blogging. Birthdays, anniversaries, kids names, personal pictures – have never showed up here. When I started here it was with two aims, to write about kids as I see them. Pictures and videos capture the moment but don’t capture my feelings as a parent at those moments. Words, I thought, would be the best way to preserve and at some point look back at the feelings aspect of motherhood. The other was to capture my feelings about the various trips we took. Now 4+ years down the line and a very busy life later, a lot of what I started with has been left behind. That I have not been able to capture a fourth of what the kids do, has to be my biggest blogging regret. But this is life and I am rolling with the punches here.

On the other hand what I did not expect, when I did start the blog, was the human aspect of a public blog. The readers, the comments, the getting to know each other even if through posts, the connections, the shared joys and sorrows and most importantly the friends. What I did not expect were the emails when the blog goes silent or the hugs when I write something sad or personal messages when something touches the readers. What I did not expect was to become part of a group that cared so much, even about people they have never met.

In all these years I have been part of birthday surprises, wedding showers, baby showers, contests and so much more – all on the blog, all for people I have never met. But looking back it all started with one simple comment on my blog.

Hey! Can I have an email id where I can contact u? Urgent!

I did not know what to expect. Had I broken some unwritten blog rule? What it turned out to be was an invitation to join a surprise blog shower for a blogger I read. And hence started a lot of blog firsts for me. Blog shower (that turned in to blog showers), planning, laughing, chain email threads, first blog friends, first blog personal emails exchanged, first real introduction to the blogger community.

That first blog shower is very special to me, that first blogger who we celebrated the blog shower for is very special to me, those first few friends that I made are very special to me, the first few blogs I started to read are special to me, that first blogger who wrote that comment is very special to me.

One morning I woke up to my inbox bursting at the seams from emails from various bloggers, all with the same comment.

She deleted her blog!

She did? My first reaction was a selfish, ‘how could she’? How can she keep us away from the amazing writing of hers? And for what? My next reaction was to calm down and go directly to the source.

Life with its twists and turns, so many unknowns , so many changes and still true friends are the one who stand by us through it all. If there is one person I know, then she is the one who is rich in friends. She has walked hills and valleys with her friends and they have in turn held her hand when clouds surrounded her like never before. Today I  re-introduce her to every single person who wrote in, who read her, who wondered where she went, who worried about her, who cared.

Revs, you know you are special right? Your writing, your wit, your joy, your giving – it is all you. All part of who you are. Never ever give any of that up, not for anything. Stay happy, stay healthy, stay you!

Oh and keep writing. Always!

Now go people read the brilliance that she is 🙂

16 thoughts on “Journey..Friends..Introductions

  1. Hmmm.. is so get you Comfy. The human aspect of the blogging world.. caught me by surprise as well.. though of course I’m still the introvert when it comes to reaching out through emails/phone and making friends 🙂
    And, when I was reading through this one.. i somehow felt that you were writing about Revs 🙂 I was not aware that she had stopped blogging. Glad that she’s writing again! Super lovely post Comfy!!

  2. Though I am much of a lurker in her blog, I love the way she writes. I was shocked when I got the,”The blog has been deleted” message. But I knew she must be writing somewhere. Thanks for the link Comfy. This is such a lovely post, full of love.
    I truly admire you for keeping the blog anonymous. But how I wish to see you, buzz and bugz someday.. Someday hopefully 🙂

  3. Ohh I read Revs a couple times and then she disappeared..so glad to have found her again 🙂
    Hope you are well,comfy.I read your posts in my inbox..but too lazy to comment 😦

  4. I have been a silent reader of Revs blog for a long time..and was terribly disappointed when I saw it deleted..and then I thought may be she just wanted to write on her Tamizh blog..and thought it was such a loss for us folks who cant read Tamizh..but she is back..ayayayayay!

    Thanks Comfy for the wonderful news 🙂

Leave a Reply

