Walls

Fight for the silliest of reason and a wall builds up. Within touching distance but a wall..un-penetrable. Not a word spoken because of the wall..soundproof.

Anger cools..hesitant words..understanding looks..pretend normal behavior..wall cracks become larger..day goes on..but some part of the hurt remains..that one last bending..that one last something..the wall is almost gone but for a couple of shards.

Sleep is broken with a small touch of leg against leg. Heart and mind calm, I move a little more in to that touch. Even in deep sleep, I feel him exhale. On reflex a hand comes touches my head and I slide to lay my head on his shoulder. My place of peace, my best pillow, my favorite place to sleep.

Flutter eyelids, sleep overtakes. Walls, there are none.

34 thoughts on “Walls

      1. Sometimes in sleep here, the wall breaks because it is cold and cuddles feel nice. But once awake a pseudo-wall is quickly built and the blame for the cuddles is always on the other person, until the following cold night of course πŸ˜›

        1. Oh! That is nice. The two of us are super stubborn, which means we will stay awake due to the cold but will not cuddle till things are resolved. 😐

  1. Hahah! πŸ™‚ So true!
    The unconscious snuggle during sleep after a big fight… erases every doubt, or in this case, every (imagined) wall. πŸ™‚

  2. Comfy, thanks for writing this out for me. Now I can write about something else since this was going to be my post word for word πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

