Magic

Nose scrunched up as she laughs, lips pouting as she cries, a quick shake of her head to say no, turning around followed by walking backward before she sits down, demands of food from anyone who is eating, expecting claps when she does something special, showing resentment when told ‘no’, always moving – Bugz.

She wave bye to everyone as I carry her upstairs, tries to run around as I get her ready for bed and throws one last fit as I try and get her to sleep. She screams, she cries, she resists being held, she tries removing my hand from her waist, she calms down, she holds my hand and just like that 5 minutes later she is fast asleep. As I pick her up to lay her down in her crib, I look down at her face.

Talking non-stop, eyes shining, jumping over things, being a beeeegggg helper, dictating menu of the day, practicing her letters, building towers, colouring any paper she can lay her hands on, inventing games, laughing aloud, drama queen tears, always moving – Buzz

She gives a hug and a kiss as she walks upstairs, switches on the night light, lies down on her bed and waits for me to give her the blanket. She smiles, she demands her kiss, she says ‘I love you’ and she closes her eyes as I walk out the room to let her sleep. A couple of hours later, as I make my way to my room for the night, I peep in to her room and look down at her face.

Sandman is said to sprinkle sand in to the eyes of kids at night to bring on sleep and dreams. This is all part of fairytales of course and not true. There is not dust and the sleep is tiredness induced but there is something magical about watching the ever changing expressive face of a child be at peace as s/he sleeps. I have come to believe that there is no sand dust for the kids, but in fact there is pixie dust for the parents which enchants then so much that it becomes impossible to look away from the sleeping angels.

And before you ask, yes I am under the spell.

22 thoughts on “Magic

  1. so nice, they sleep so quick… mine will make me run behind her and atleast take 40 min to put her to sleep.. she doesnt like anyone moving around when she sleeps, she needs everyone sitting around her,some one has to sing for her to put her to sleep..

  2. I am waiting for the day when Pari will begin sleeping on time and with 50% less effort that what it takes me now to put her to sleep 🙂
    I agree, parents are truly enchanted by the spell their babies cast on them 😀

  3. The whole dramatic surge of love that chokes me every time I look at Zo asleep, even if a few minutes ago she was throwing back her head , refusing to settle down, well, magical is the right word 🙂

  4. in fact there is pixie dust for the parents which enchants then so much that it becomes impossible to look away from the sleeping angels.
    So I’ve heard from a lot of parents 🙂 I will take your word for this one…

  5. Blisssssssssssssssssss and As the above comment

    in fact there is pixie dust for the parents which enchants then so much that it becomes impossible to look away from the sleeping angels.

    I bet my mum can vouch for that 🙂 he he he he you see I was cute too ONCE UPON A TIME 🙂 he he he he he ..

    Lots of love and god bless the little ones

    1. 😆 at I was cute too Once Upon A Time!!! aery….get out of that scary police clothes and stand in the middle of a Yash Chopra type green field in a kurti and dhoti…..I swear NRI kudi’s will find you straight out of bollywood cute 😉 :mrgreen:

  6. Awwwwwww…… Comfy, I don’t know if someone else could have expressed a feeling so ‘known’ this beautifully.. Am blowing kisses your way from here:)

Leave a Reply

