Better late

I meant to write this in April but April said auf Wiedersehen before I could even blink my eyes.

Before I say anything, I think every parent should go read this. These are guidelines for Little League but they make sense in day to day life as well, after all the end goal is to try and protect our kids from abuse.

Now on to the little steps D and I have started taking. We spoke about it at length and decided ‘Keep It Simple Stupid’ was the way to go for now. Our task was further simplified on Buzz’s last visit to her pediatrician’s office. *Start digression* Buzz thinks Doctors’ offices are special. After all Mom kept going to one while she was pregnant and then for post-natal checkups as well. Bugz gets to go frequently too, what with all the monthly checkups and immunization visits. Papa had a few trips in the middle for some reason. Which meant Buzz was the only one left out of the loop. Added to that Buzz’s trips to the doctor’s office are a lot of fun. New toys to play with while we wait, no hurt or pain of any kind, a sticker and lollypop in the end. Who would not want to go to the doctor’s office? *End digression* Her pediatrician spoke to her about her private areas and that no one was supposed to touch them.

For all the times Buzz refused to pay attention to what we were telling her, she listened to her doctor in the first go around. We have been keeping at it since. It is all play and games for her but at least she replies back with correct answers when asked:

Who is allowed to touch your private area?
What do you do when someone touches you there?
What do you do when someone tells you not to tell Mumma or Papa?

After which we move on to jumping on the stairs or splashing in the water or whatever else we were doing.

Will this help? I don’t know, but I hope it does. I really hope it does.

14 thoughts on “Better late

  1. Of course it will help Comfy..I am sure every bit we do helps..and keeping it simple at her age is the perfect key to making her understand!

    Thanks for the link…

  2. Comfy, I know I am much younger than you. But you know what? I know for a fact that whatever you share on your blog gets etched in my memory somehow. And I know that if and when I have kids, I’ll remember all this and come back to your blog for advice! 🙂

  3. That would have been helpful yes? I am sure it will work too. Unlike Preeks, I am not so far away from the ‘talks’ stage, so I will have to revisit this page for sure then! 🙂

  4. The sooner kids understand the importance of being guarded, the better. At this age you can’t get into any more details, so this much is sufficient Comfy. I speak with A Jr regarding these things too, though very lightly, and in a way that he feels like I’m treating him like a grown-up and expecting him to act matured. 🙂

  5. Thanks for the tips Comfy..will follow suit when my time with Paapu comes.

    I think, engraving the cautions in their baby brains this early is sure to be helpful in the long run.

  6. I told my son about the good touch bad touch only twice but I am not sure if he really got it. I intend to do it more often with him. Thanks for sharing Comfy.

  7. Oh this would definitely help Comfy. I’m trying to teach my nephew about good and bad touch and this post has come in as a great help. Will keep it simple. Thanks for writing.

  8. The link is wonderful..the points mentioned are useful, no doubt!

    and your ways, of course an idea for us too, thanks for sharing them!

Leave a Reply

