One in each hand

Bhaiya and I sit on the couch talking when Buzz comes running from the corner she has been playing in. She spots the peanuts in the bowl I have on my lap and quickly scrambles on to my lap. Once she is seated comfortably she holds her hand out for a peanut. I place one in her palm and tell her:

Achche se chabaa kar kahana.

Without acknowledging what I said, she holds out her other hand in front of me. With a smile, I hand over another peanut in her other hand. Satisfied she shows off her two peanuts to me and gets down to eating. Bhaiya who has been watching the exchange says with great amusement:

Tere raajma, iski mungfali.

Kon se raajma, Bhaiya?

Tujhe yaah nahein? Every time Maa made raajma you would keep two aside in the plate to dry them a little. Then hold one in each hand, call them your salad and eat them one at a time, making them last a while.

Do I remember any of this? No I don’t. But for some crazy reason I am so glad that Bhaiya does and let me in on a little bit more about my long forgotten little self. 🙂

42 thoughts on “One in each hand

  1. Awww! It’s so nice to listen to those tidbits from our times and esp. when u see ur own creation dng something like that too – must be amazing 🙂 Hw sweet 🙂

  2. My daughter says that your acquired traits became heredity traits….thats going too much into genetics… 🙂 😉

    So so sweet….am glad ur bro told u all abt it… 🙂 🙂

    Now, I know what to give u and Buzz… 😉

    1. Oh I love your daughter’s theory 😀

      Uma, you don’t even have to worry about what to make for us. We will eat whatever you make, given that you make such amazing food. 🙂

  3. Awww… you were as cute as Buzz darling!! 😀
    it’s nice when the sibling remembers isn;t it?!
    I love embarassing my sister too with the not-so-nice episodes!! It’s fun pulling her leg!!!! :mrgreen: 😉 😛

  4. brothers sometimes are very sweet… u know like these times… rakhi times 😉 birthday times but otherwise very protective & commanding 😉 “yahan mat jaao…akele mat jaao..yeh mat karo ..wo mat karo” 😀

    All I can say a special bond 🙂

    1. My brother was a little different in these cases. Would fight with Mom and Dad to let me go out to movies late in the evening with him. ‘I will take care of her’, he would say over and over again. 😀

      But yeah a very special bond. 🙂

  5. Oh wow!! Its so amazing!! I wonder what R and S have picked up from me…I guess thats why you need your kids to spend time with your family – its the link between the past and the future!

    1. There are so many little little things you find out about yourself when your kids spend time with you family. And you said it, that is the link between the past and the future. 🙂

  6. how forgetful of you comfy..tsk tsk 😉

    and children do remind us of our childhood in some way or the other…it’s good to see a part of us in them..awww !!

Leave a Reply

