Little helper

I now have a little helper, a helper who throws a tantrum the size of a little hurricane..which includes rain (tears), shrieking winds (cries and rants), storm surge (banging on things and kicking on the floor)..if she is not allowed to help.

So as I make my way upstairs to do the laundry, I have to remember to say loudly, ‘Buzz Maa uper washing machine mein kapde daalne jaa rahi hein’. Even before I can make my way up the stairs, I spy the helper going up with as much speed as her little legs allow (which is FAST). As I open the door to the washing machine, I see the helper’s hand in the laundry basket, getting the first set of clothes out and putting them in the machine. Every single cloth that goes in after that is fought over, if I so much as try to put them in. When the bottom of the basket cannot be reached, it is thrown sideways and crawled inside, to get the last of the clothes out. Once the basket is empty, the door is slammed shut with all her might. I am finally allowed to pour detergent in the slot, but again am not allowed to shut the slot. Then while she fiddles with the various buttons pretending to get the machine started, I go and start the machine. We then do a repeat performance with her almost getting inside the washing machine as I transfer clothes from the machine to the drier.

As I stand in the kitchen, cooking and cleaning, she is seen around my vicinity every now and then. But the minute she hears the dishwasher open, everything is dropped. Then she comes running. While I put the dishes in, she plays with the spoons, banging them, droping them, moving them from one slot to the next. But the fun begins when it is time to empty the dishwasher. She has a knack of picking up the most fragile things first. Which of course has me worried no end. So as I rush around emptying the breakables first, I turn around to see her holding a coffee cup or a glass. Once those are out of the way, my little helper hands over anything and everything she can lay her hands on (which is everything in the dishwasher but for the middle row in the top rack). Things like plastic containers are not even handed over, but placed directly in their correct place. If the dishwasher is opened for less than a minute and closed before she can get there, she makes sure to open it and shut it, to ensure her part is done.

Cleaning up and stacking her toys and books is not part of her assigned tasks (because of no fault of mine, I have been trying to assign them for a while now).  But then again to be fair, all I need to do is start cleaning and my sweet little helper is right there besides me, cleaning up. Well sometimes we even clean what we are not supposed to or get on Paa’s case for not hanging the jacket in the closet, soon after coming back home. But those are all little things. She is learning, she is growing up. Maa and Paa can’t be prouder of the little worker bee of theirs. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Little helper

Leave a Reply

