Live and learn

Miss Rays seems to think that teaching is not a new learning experience everyday and hence wants to know what I want to learn. Err..who said I want to learn anything ๐Ÿ˜ณ Me?? Me?? Seriously?? ๐Ÿ˜ฏย Naaaa..I know everything I need to know. I am done with all the learning business ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

  • CPR: I always have thoughtย that CPRย was an important thing to learn but have notย gotten around to it. Then one day a certain e-Akka of Buzz asked me what I would do if Buzz fell and hurt herself. I found myself with no answers. As she went on to explain what, how, when of thingsย I should do, it hit home hard that I need to do this and do it quick. D knowing CPR gives me some breathing room but that does not excuse my not knowing the how’s of CPR.
  • Photography: I love to take pictures but I am self-taught and know I can do a lot better. Beautiful pictures capture my interest like no other and I would love to one day have the knowhow to be able to click pictures with proper filters, light, aperture and whatever else is required.
  • Animation Design: In my mind animations are a perfect blend of creativity and technology and would love to explore the field to see the images and storiesย in my head come alive as talking, moving somethings on a computer screen.
  • Painting: Besides from learning the basics of water painting in schoolย I have never had any formal training in it. I dabble in water paints and acrylics when the whim strikes but lose patience when things start to go wrong. Would love to learn the right technique or even try out oil paints. To be able to pick up a blank canvas and be able to render something beautiful would be an amazing high.
  • Juggling: I have horrible hand-eye coordination. I suck big time at sports for the same reason. And so it follows that I can never get past juggling more than two objects. But watching people juggleย 3 or more objects is fascinating and I love to dream that one day I will get it. If there is a trick to it and you know and are willing to share, I am all ears. Please pass on all information. But do keep in mind the hand-eye coordination challenged me ๐Ÿ˜ so keep it simple ๐Ÿ˜›
  • Perfect Makeup: Fact – I can’t apply makeup. Fact – The only thing I can do isย dab lipstick on my lips. Fact – I can’t even get the eyeliner to go along the curve of my eyelids in consistent thickness. Not that I miss it much or mind that I can’t but when I see a woman with just the right makeup pass by, I wish I knew how, for those special occasions. Which haven’t shown up yet..or if they have I missed them completely..but I would love to have the knowhow if I am ever faced with them..special occasions I mean.
  • Snowboarding: I can ski and have the confidence to come down a blue slope with ease. Have heard that snowboarding is a lot of fun..and they can sit on their butt whenever the fancy strikes..and they have way cooler clothes than skiers..and look way too cool coming down a hill. What I can’t have shallow reasons to want to learn something??
  • Start a campfire: I know the theory of it. Have seen D do it enough number of times to know the how’s of it. But have never done it. And have always wanted to. hmm maybe will put a check in front of this one the next time we are out camping.
  • Make a fancy dish: You know those dishes they show on TV which has ingredients you have never heard of and a dash of red wine at the very end? Yeah I would love to learn to cook one of those. Why you ask? Remember the coolness factor above? Yeah same same. How cool would it be to serve a dish which looks fancy, has a fancy name, and has fancy ingredients. Taste..err you really care about that??
  • Sense of humor: Sigh if only you could learn that from someone/someplace. I guess I shall have to be happy with I have ๐Ÿ˜

Sheess Miss Rays see what you did. Now I really will have to go do some learning. Let me pass along the pain..err same to..oh wait you did not leave anyone for me to tag.. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

I tag AHK,ย PinsAndAshes, Priya, Rani and Varsh.ย Let’s hear itย from you ladies, what goes on your list of things to learn.

67 thoughts on “Live and learn

  1. Arey, you know skiing and you call anything else on snow cooler? I think skiing IS THE COOLEST ๐Ÿ˜€ ( especially because I drop on my butt with crooked skii legs even if I try to move and inch with those :P)

    CPR – none in our household knows ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Now, its suddenly important. Will definitely add this to my list. Thanks for the reminder!

    Sense of Humor – Hehe. Same pinch on that one ๐Ÿ˜€

    Thanks for tagging ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Snowboarding involves balancing on a board and sliding down, no? The google images confirm. Anyways, what’s the term used for that where we sit nicely on a board and zoom down the snow hill ?
        Have done it..and was lotsa fun. No classes-wasses needed for that one. That much I can say ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I want to learn skiing, without getting scared…will you teach? ๐Ÿ˜€

    I would love to learn painting too. That’s on my list.

    Starting a campfire – I am going to try all by myself next time I go camping…then I’ll know whether or not I need to learn it ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Better yet I will get D to teach you ๐Ÿ˜€ or wait a few years..he will teach Buzz and you can learn from her ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

      I know..I need to try starting a campfire on my own before I know if need to learn or not ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Haa what a list and why is that my head is hurting with all the yes yes’s and no no’s am doing reading your list? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Ohh guess was checking what all I know and don’t…sobs!! I should get a brain one of these days.

    err I was made to perform CPR in college while studying to be a doctor ๐Ÿ™„ and the episode is still a big joke among my friends…sobs!! We were supposed to try it on a dummy and if it is right a red light glows on it and when I blowed the whole dummy quivered and fell off the table ๐Ÿ˜ณ

    I can SKI and do SNOW BOARDING!!! :mrgreen: Ohhh what pleasure it is Comfy to ride on your butt all the way down I tell ya ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› Shall I send a pic of me doing that to rub your further?

    You score one brownie point over the make up thing…I can’t even open a lipstick ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    Sigh! I so so wanted to start a camp fire too and when I tried this weekend while camping I almost ended up roasting my hair. So now that is banned for me.

    You paint?? when will we get a glimpse of your Art?

    1. Make your way on your Butt sounds like amazing fun.. ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› I will not want to miss out on the pictures so send them over ๐Ÿ‘ฟ

      Quivering dummy..Roasted hair ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜†

      Art who said anything about art..I said I pick up a paint brush..nothing about it coming out as art ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

    2. @ Sakshi: Did you just say you are a doctor ๐Ÿ˜ฏ ๐Ÿ˜ฏ ???
      Now I know whom to practice my sense of humor on to get as sharp witted as you are ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. CPR – check – need to learn.
    Skiing/anything at all to do with snow – need to learn!

    Well, I can apply makeup pretty nicely when I want to! except the eyeliner – that’s remained a challenge! ๐Ÿ˜€

    OOh! and the fancy cooking as well!! Me wants to add that dash of red wine at the end of a dish too and that’s to the dish and not to err.. my glass!!! :mrgreen:

  5. Nice tag. Will do it SOON ๐Ÿ™‚

    Am with you on photography. And the way I know CPR, I might as well be killing a healthy soul! Should learn it right. Sigh!

  6. Why sweat over make-up ladies? You have me! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Things I can do –
    Make your skin tone look even, matt or gloss it depending on your skin type, Eye-make up (The liner should not be used with consistent thickness Comfy, it should be like a wave :D), Lip make-up
    Me: Show off..wave it seems. Teach me.. I will start with eye-make up first..don’t care much about even skin tone.. eyes now that I want ๐Ÿ˜€

    I don’t know to style hair or colour cheeks – you need to figure that by yourself, if you want to ๐Ÿ˜€
    And when I paint the nails, the paint doesn’t stay to just nails, I am clumsy in that ๐Ÿ˜›
    Me: Naah let’s start small. Baby steps ๐Ÿ˜›

    Question – Where does mango man (aam aadmi) learn CPR?
    Me: ๐Ÿ˜† at Mango Man ๐Ÿ˜†
    CPR, I think the local hospitals have classes for them. Paging Rev for more answers

    Comfy you can learn photography from D… Or does your principle of not learning anything from the partner apply to this as well? Someday, you need to explain me this principle in detail ๐Ÿ˜€
    Me: On this one D and I are same same. We can’t learn from each other. And no I won’t tell you THAT story..hmph..

    Making fancy dishes – I know a handful ๐Ÿ˜€
    Thanks to the ex-flatmate being a sous chef in a 5 star property and me being his diligent chela ๐Ÿ˜€
    I can also carve vegetables well making the dish look good and AB has taught me a couple of napkin folds ๐Ÿ˜€
    Me: When are you coming. I need to learn..

    Going camping in English weather is being greedy ๐Ÿ˜
    We’ll cross the bridge when we come to it

    Snowboarding? After skiing? You are my snow guru hence forth!
    Me: Sure.. come on over ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Animation was something I had planned to make my career in. But back then, animation was not a huge thing in India, even now for that matter… And now, I am scared to venture into something new, leaving behind my cozy skills!
    Me: That is why the learning..not switch of career ๐Ÿ™‚

    Did I just write a post? Sorry! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for taking up the tag Comfy, if not anything, I got to show off a little ๐Ÿ˜›
    Me: But what fun read.. show off anytime you like.. we love show offs here ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Ohho! I should have waited for you to do the tag before publishing mine! Now I want to do so much of the interesting stuff you have listed! A.K.A. Juggling, Makeup, campfire and snowboarding! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Very unique list you have! Happy learning! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I am copying a lot of ideas btw, from all those who have done this tag! More scope to learn you see!

    I do want to ski someday! Want to know what the fuss is about! Being from a Swiss company, I have my colleagues tell me all the time about their skiing vacations! ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. This tag is fantastic, but work has been taking toll on me to make me stick to very short posts since so long ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Well count me in amongst those yearning to get to learn professional photography and animation ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Not much snow in Aus so no temptation to learn snow boarding ( am real scared of it too )
    Painting, done that a lot but now don’t get anytime to even buy brushes and palette ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Cooking, I do a lot of experimenting and try to make all tempting dishes I get hold of in the magazines or internet ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Make up- I know basics of them all, so if you are looking for eye liner to a bronzer and/or a little blusher I can help you with that.

    CPR- I work in a hospital so it’s part of my job ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Sense of humor- thinking of scanning Sakshi’s brain to know the intricate secrets of acquiring a good sense of humor ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Ah! my list is growing by the day, I need to do this tag ASAP ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Reading your list I was nodding my head for each of the things I would also love to do as well…
    I also can never apply eye-liner properly ..till college for any functions friends used to be there ..but now its a uphill task..

    I read how to do CPR from net when Akshaj was small ..but now I have totally forgotten about it ..really this is very important to know ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  11. ๐Ÿ˜† @ Juggling

    I am with you on make up, photography and fancy dish ๐Ÿ™‚

    Snowboarding sounds really cool :D.. I have to learn skiing yet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. Seems you have experienced and enjoyed your tour like a real traveller and a Nature lover, who is fond of adventure, fun and learning. Have you visited Garwal or Ladakh or Jim Corbett? I am sure you’ll love to click and have a complete rock adventure.

Leave a Reply

