Pockets

I was looking for a dress for Buzz to wear for her Birthday when I came across this..and instantly fell in love. Picked it up..payed for it..came home all smiles.

Everyone loved the dress but thought it was too informal for the first birthday 😦

Outnumbered and out voted..my hunt for a dress continued but I was secretly hoping that I would not find anything else and Buzz gets to hear this. One day when alone with Buzz I tried this dress on her. And all my dreams of her wearing this dress onΒ her birthdayΒ came crashing down. It was too big for her.Β Hence started the hunt for her birthday dress in earnest.

Since then, I keep opening Buzz’s closet to look at this dress over and over again. Finally last week I tried the dress on her again (for the 10th time if not more) and it fit. My enthusiasm was beyond words asΒ I got her all dressed for daycare. If you have not figured it out yet, the pockets are what makes the dress as cute as it is. And Buzz could not stop touching them..playing with them..put her hands in them. Her joy made me all the more happy.

We finally got to her daycare..where she was admired by all the adults while I glowed with maternal pride πŸ˜€

Till..till I let her down to make my way out of her class. She was instantly surrounded by all the other kids of her class..with everyone trying to touch her watermelon pockets. Little Buzz did not like that AT ALL. I could hear her screams all the way out the door. I am told that went on..on and off throughout the day. With kids trying to get close to her to get a hand in her pocket and she running away from everyone screaming.

But as traumatic as this was for her.. all the adults smiled through all of it. And now..today I can’t wait to put her back in this dress.

Rain rain go away..come back another day..

PS: I don’t have to worry about boys chasing her just yet do I??

52 thoughts on “Pockets

  1. Pretty. I want to play with the watermelon pockets too…it’s too cute πŸ˜€

    Boys chasing her – not yet, but will happen soon, I’m sure πŸ˜‰

  2. Ah! I remember the dress! She did look uber cute in it πŸ™‚

    To whomsoever it may concern: *I* saw Buzz wearing this dress people! Buwahahahahaaaa πŸ˜€

    1. yup yup yup that’s the word .. she must have looked “delicious” in it …. Comfy your little darling is all set to be the coveted one ;p …. grey hairs setting in? ;D … the Chase has just begun ;p

  3. Those pockets are a creative addition to that dress….super cute :D:D
    When I was Buzz’s age or probably a year older, I had a jersey with Penguin shaped button on it. What followed was very similar to buzz’s reaction. But mine was a bit extreme, for I didn’t like anyone touching the buttons except mom, not even my brother πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  4. before reading the post the pockets attracted me..I so want to wear such dress right away πŸ˜›

    Children’s outfits are so cute these days…I wonder why didn’t they produce them when we were kids..sigh!

  5. oh my! That dress has a serious cute quotient attached to it! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Buzz would look adorable in it! πŸ™‚
    Well, she has started day care right? You might have to wait a year or so for the boy to start calling!!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  6. Never know when u will write a post abt boys chasing the sweetheart Comfy … all the best πŸ˜‰

    That dress; I just cnt stop looking @ it πŸ˜€
    Err wil u pass it on to me when it does nt fit Buzz anymore, if I hv a daughter πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  7. Such a cute dress! I am kinda disliking your no pics policy, by the way.
    And yes, it might not happen immediately, but it will happen soon! Get ready to shoo away all the fans! πŸ˜€

  8. Such a pretty dress or frock as we called it in bachpan πŸ˜›
    I don’t blame the kids for playing with those cute pockets, I wanna do that myself πŸ˜€

  9. The boy part doesn’t come until much later. Relax, and enjoy the present. Besides, boys don’t really like watermelons.

    Yeah, I’ll shut up now! πŸ˜›

  10. I too had similar kind of frocks with teddy bear and I loved the pockets in them πŸ˜€
    Buzz sweetie you too like them…. πŸ™‚ so cute πŸ™‚

  11. i want tht dress too :((( buy me onee comfyyy plzzzzzz….. criesssssssssssssss..plzzzzzzzz buzzz must b looking so damn cute in tht dress..i can imagine πŸ™‚

  12. Water melon slices for pockets… :):) I’m having a slice of melon, to keep me going green too… She would have looked a darling, I’m sure.:) If it was me I would have worn it every single day.. πŸ™‚

  13. How i wish i can see ambuli in this dress.
    Well,i too bought an informal dress for her first b’day and everyone questioned about it.How old is buzz darling?

  14. *Sob Sob Sob* Even though I’m the proud mother of a very cute and adorable boy I keep wishing secretly that I had a daughter, since I miss dressing him up in oh-so-pretty outfits like this one!!! 😦
    Buzz darling had already learnt to be possessive about her dress!!! Kids grow up so fast na!! Am sure the dress must be looking worth more than a million bucks on her πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Guys chasing her…not yet…but I bet someday not too far away you might see her chasing some guy away for trying to touch her watermelon pockets πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

  15. The dress is a cutie all right, love those lil watermelon pockets πŸ™‚ I’d done the same thing for Nikki, fell in love with and bought a dress that turned out to be too informal for her birthday. She ended up wearing it on her birthday at home and a propah party dress for the birthday party later.
    P.S. According to The Papa Man, its never too early to start worrying about the boys πŸ˜‰

  16. the dress is way too cute! I’m sure it must have looked great on her πŸ™‚

    oh come on, she’s too small. just trying sun glasses and all. boy calling is like eons away, she’s all yours! { even if they do, we’ll shoo away most of them. you’ve got support :D}

Leave a Reply

