Travel Thursday – The Travel Contest

To come up with my favorite five of all the travel pictures I have is next to impossible. I have gone back and forth so many times..picking one and then the other.. And still am not sure about these as the final five. Can I not put more than 5? Rules to break and all that. I almost asked for all of your help to vote and let me know which ones you liked. Make my selection process a little easier, but was not sure if that would be against the rules, so here goes.

I have visited a lot of mountains, stood on a lot of snow cover, seen my good share of glaciers but nothing comes close to the Glacier Cruise we did in Alaska. And the high point was definitely when the boat stopped in front of this majestic glacier meeting the sea. The shear untouched beauty of it..the more blue than white iced up snow..the jagged column like formations. As we took in the beauty, silence descended on the boat. Awe inspiring does not even cover the feeling during those moments. The big rumble that was heard which had everyone’s attention. And the big chunk of ice that broke off from one of the columns to fall into the sea. A reminder that this was in fact a living, moving glacier.

To be able to see a predator in the wild is more than what one can ask for, but to see one charge after a pray..albeit a small rodent, is not something I would have ever hoped for. And to live to capture the sight and talk about it. This has to be one of my all time favorite travel tale to tell. I still get goose-bumps every time I think back at the speed with which this male Bear charged after the pray. And can’t help being glad that I was not the one he was running after. More images from the same set can be viewed here.

I love nature untouched. Nature that you can look at without having to hurry up because someone else wants to take your spot and capture the same picture, or while on a hike to walk on without gazing at nature around. So this hike taken while the snow was sometimes knee-high was an amazing, stratifying experience for me. There was no one, but us. Our tracks the only tracks in the snow. This picture I like particularly because of the shadows that the trees cast against the pristine white snow. The entire hike was around playing peek-a-boo with frozen lake and the trees. And this pictures captures the essence of the hike.

An empty beach is difficult to find, so we really lucked out on this one. But what gives character to the beach is this sea stack. Standing tall against the crashing waves. The contrast of colors with the water and its waves, the clear blue skies, the brown sand, and the yellow sea stack made this place postcard worthy.

Through all my flying in and out of airports, I always prefer the window seat. Because I love to look out, see the terrain as we fly over head. The glittering city with all its lights at night, the rambling hills, the snaking around rivers, the snow-capped mountains. But taking off or landing at sunset is a sight so different from any other. I love the sunset but this one is so different from any that one usually gets to see. The striking colors, the almost curve of the earth, looking into the horizon which seems to go on and on. A realization of how small we are..and how amazing nature is..and how blessed we are to be able to see it, if we take the time to look around.

PS: This is my entry for BlogAdda Travel Photo challenge


PPS: Thanks to CB for letting me know about this challenge

62 thoughts on “Travel Thursday – The Travel Contest

    1. fantastic entry comfy,good luck πŸ™‚ Do we need to vote or something ?

      Every description is a tale in itself..you have magic with words πŸ™‚

      The last lines are lovely..true and reached my heart ! Me too loves the window seat and not aisle ! to be able to see the glittering city lights and cottony clouds..but your experience is amazing ! Look at the colors.. and kudos to you for your timely click πŸ™‚

  1. Wow! I wanted to participate too.. after seeing your lovely entry, I’m sort of scared to πŸ™‚ I dont have such nice pictures as you do! Do we need to do anything special to go to Alaska? I wanted to know how you planned that trip

    1. Oh no..please do Doli..would love to see and read about your travel.

      I don’t think there is anything special required for Alaska. We booked a few places..booked a bus ride into Denali National Park..and the glacier cruise..and a car..but those are things that you need to do on any trip right?

      Almost at the very start of the blog..I have a few posts on the Alaska trip..they might help. Do ask me questions if you have any. πŸ™‚

  2. Yay!! I am glad you participated. The moment I read about this contest, your name shot in my mind.
    Awesome selection of pictures….just like always πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Best wishes for the contest πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  3. I liked the Alaska one and the last one…. really wow πŸ™‚
    The last one especially… The serenity the picture eludes is remarkable πŸ™‚
    On seeing the Alaska one, I could feel how it would be to be standing in that place… Really thrilling πŸ™‚
    All the best Comfy πŸ™‚

  4. Sigh! U already did it? Am still browsing thru trying to select 5 pics πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Gud luck Comfy. I hv always enjoyed ur travel tales πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. Beautiful selection and aptly described. Just make sure you provide a linkback with an image from Pringoo.com . That’s one of the conditions for participating if I’m right πŸ™‚

  6. The last one is simply awesome! πŸ™‚

    I remember when flying to Hyderabad, I had the window seat and the entire city of Bangalore looked like a jewel!
    I was so busy admiring the scenery, I forgot to take a pic of the twinkling lights! πŸ™‚

    The Glacier looks very majestic too!

  7. My fave are the 1st and the third. Nothing to beat the beauty of Alaska’s glaciers. I love snow and I think am always biased towards it and hence the third pic.

    All the best for the contest πŸ˜›

  8. Love the pic of the glacier! Coming across one and suddenly realising that it is moving is such an experience!
    The fourth Picture is easily a postcard picture! All the best girl πŸ™‚

  9. each picture speaks its own stories..and extremely beautiful..best wishes for the contest..and may the travel tales grow..well done …

  10. All the pics are simply breathtaking! It’s really difficult to choose one among these but if I had to then I would choose the 4th one. Blue sky, milky waves and a tough and sturdy rock. What a juxtaposition! Great photography Comfy πŸ™‚

  11. I came, I saw the pics, I was mesmerized that I couldn’t get the right words to say, so I left. I came again, I read the post, I saw the pics again and was left speechless, again. And now I’m blabbering because I seriously don’t know how to put how awesome this is in words πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

