Monkey Business

Friends of ours are relocating to a different city and need to downgrade. So she tentatively asked me if I would mind taking her daughters soft toy collection for Buzz. She would give it to charity otherwise. But it would make her daughter happy if she knew her soft-buddies were with someone she knew. Me being me (all for good, free stuff) said ‘Yes ofcourse. So on came a basket full of soft toys.

Buzz has been buzzing around the bright-colored basket since but having never seen soft toys is staying away from them. So yesterday evening, I sat her down on my lap and started taking out each stuffed animal, playing with it and letting Buzz see what all the fuss is about.

Out came a bear with a long floppy hat. We laughed endlessly at the hat doing back and forth.
Then came a bear dressed for Christmas. The colors so bright..our eyes went wide.
Next came a rabbit. One ear bend. The other one standing straight. A lot of time spend trying to get the ear bend. Alas kuttey ke dum..err khargosh kaa kaan ??
Out came a camel. Stood up straight. What fun to make it fall down.
It was the dog’s turn next. It was laying down. So we pet it, all the while cooing to it.
What the kangaroo had to be the next. And how Maa made it bounce and every time it landed on Buzz’s stomach she cracked up.
The frog hand puppet was not to be left behind. So in went Maa’s hand and a gruff voice came out as the mouth moved. What fascinating stuff.

..similarly some more came out..which I don’t remember.. and then came out the dark brown, hairy, long limbed, long-tailed, Monkey. And Buzz screamed in terror. Came scrambling in to my lap. Would not look at the monkey till I put it away. And once he was in the basket, buried it with all the other animal friends.

I told D about what happened once he got home for the day. He tried the monkey on her..exact same reaction. We don’t like Monkeys apparently πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

The look on my friend’s daughter broke my heart. Her eyes brimming with tears as she handed over her toys. Just before they left, my friends asked her to pick one toy she wanted to take with her. She jumped in..grabbed one..looked up with pleading eyes..’Amma one more, please Amma’..Two heads (my friend and mine) nodded in yes. The little sweetheart picked another and the smile did not leave her face, neither did theΒ grip on her toys loosenedΒ till they left. Aww honey..I am so sorry. But promise that Buzz will take good care of your friends.

44 thoughts on “Monkey Business

  1. Oh we have a monkey for an Akka alright πŸ˜€ So we do like monkies. It just takes us time to get used to that crazy monkey you described. Give us some time Maa, we’ll get there. And whaddyaknow, before you know it, we’ll be trying to scare you with the same monkey πŸ˜€ You just wait Maa and Paa, you just wait πŸ˜€

  2. My observation is that kids generally do have a dislike for a few things… but when those things are not being shoved to them and yet…. they keep seeing them around being used by others or eaten by others etc… they do start getting used to it… so I guess over a period of time she will start liking them ! πŸ™‚

  3. Aww…I too would have cried if I were to part with my soft toys 😦 (even at this age)
    But that’s good our cutie little Buzz of all those chweet soft animals.

    The more she’ll be scared of it, the more curious she’ll get about it and over time will gradually start liking it πŸ™‚

    Let the monkey take a nap at the bottom of the basket for the time being πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  4. Wow.. some kid that, parting with her soft toys with such magnanimity!

    I guessed Buzz would have been scared off those furry creatures, this being her first exposure to them (?).. but she is soon going to like all of them and will then there will be one or more favs that she will insist on carrying eveywhere. Be prepared for some bonding sessions (buzz and the toys).. it is an awesome sight to watch..

    1. I know..she knew she did not have much of a choice and was resigned to the fact..but that did not stop her eyes from filling up 😦

      Yeah this is Buzz’s first exposure to them..and she is not impressed at all πŸ™‚ Will see how long that lasts πŸ˜›

      I have read that kids around 16 months start to favor a particular toy or blanket. Will see what Buzz picks up πŸ˜€

  5. Sob. My eyes became watery when I left my monkey with my niece. So I can understand. πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    I am sure Buzz is gonna love the monkey soon.

  6. Am with Misty – i never gave away my soft toys…they are still @ my mom’s place…i had to give away some dolls and i felt so miserable and i was 15 then…

    Poor lill girl

    and if buzz doesn’t like monkey (aka Akka) i can do mind it to Revs and take away buzz….

    Hahaha Revs!!! ( i dont know why i feel like taking panga with her)

    1. NuNa! Buzz has already seen her Akka who is a light-brown-non-furry monkey and she laughed and waved and smiled and giggled and all that. So sorry my love, you lose this time πŸ˜€

        1. You are joking right? This exam has made me do all crazy things. I went ahead and fell down and if that wasn’t enough, I had T blocked off my chat list. Would you believe THAT? Something is terribly terribly wrong with me 😯

  7. wow, glad buzz had a nice time with the toys. am sure the monkey will grow on her soon and will become a fave, as is the case at our place. n i have so many toys too, a lot of hand me downs mostly, and soem we got for the b de recently. am wondering what to do..

  8. 😦 Even I don’t like to part with my soft toys (at this age too!!!)
    Buzz will soon like the monkey πŸ™‚ and she will jump around with it πŸ™‚

  9. I have not been so fond of piling up soft toys but yes I used to make a lot and used to gift them to my nephew and other children …Yes one of the cute lil monkey( which I had made to check whether its drafting was right or not) gave such a darling look that my mother never gave that to anybody and is still with her…

    I can understand the sentiments and attachment of that sweet child who had to part from her toys…
    No worries she will forget that pain soon when she will know our Buzzy pie loves those toys as much as she use to…..

    OMG such a long comment….uff ..( Bear with it )Next time it will be not sooooo looong…..

Leave a Reply

