Travel Thursday – Chasing the twilight sky

My love story with sunsets started back in college. The days were dark..as in not literally, more like the light inside me was low, did not shine as bright, did not light things around as much. So I wander off to be alone, sit in the farmland beyond college grounds or on the steps of this small lake after the day’s lecture were done. Open skies..big summer setting sun..myriad of colors..mixed with the red brick houses all around. It was a sight that cannot be forgotten, if you but take a minute to watch. I watched the wonder that is nature day in, day out..Mesmerized. The fiery red, soothing yellow, glowing orange, endless black, diminishing blue..gave me hope, soothed the wounded me, calmed the racing mind.

That time is long gone, those days are long done with..but the love still remains..as strong as ever. I don’t have any pictures of the sunset back then. I did not have a camera back in the day and I will never go back to click a picture. But I see it in my mind’s eye and enjoy it as much as then. And cherish every sunset the same way. They are so different every day. But so very different at all the places I visit. So here is me chasing a love of mine.

Watching the colors and setting sun play hide and seek within tree branches. Another dimension added to the spectacle.

Peeking from the tree

Watching the way the cloud formation change not only shape but color. Clouds make sunsets all the more beautiful by filtering the colors.

Dispersing Clouds

Watching the unadulterated colors of sunset. Nothing in between. Just pure sun and the drama it creates as it finishes it journey for the day.

Splash of color

Watching how the lack of light creates silhouettes of everything. Nothing in visible clearly. Heightening the sense of colors of the sky even more.

Shadows at the end of the day

Watching the ride into the sunset, wishing was able to be part of it, knowing full well it is the imagination which is what makes the ride oh so beautiful.

Ridding into the sunset

Watching the effect the sun and its setting light have on the tall buildings of a bustling city. How everything looks like holding its breath.

Golden City

Watching the clouds form a pillow to catch the sun from falling down. Alas the all-powerful sun stop for no one.

Cotton clouds

Watching the ocean embrace the sun, lapping it with waves, which changes hues as the sun descends.

Golden water

Watching the silvery white snow turn to white gold.

Snow covered mountains

Watching the setting sun way back in the horizon while journeying in man-made contraption at top speed.

Looking out the window
35 thoughts on “Travel Thursday – Chasing the twilight sky

  1. I love sunsets too, Comfy. And each and every snap here has left me mesmerized. Awesome capture!

    And oh, I was so taken by the shades of pink I saw during sunset yesterday here. Couldn’t take my eyes off. It was amazing! 🙂

    1. Sunsets are amazing to look at.. That is why I always wonder why so few people look at them.. We are just so busy in our day to day life that we don’t have time to stop and watch.

      I am glad you got to see this amazing sunset yesterday.. 🙂

  2. splash of color, golden city, splash of clouds, snow covered mountains…my my…all are heavenly re 🙂

    I fell in love instantly with these pics…three cheers to the photographer…the story writer..and the mother nature 🙂

  3. Beautiful beautiful photos – love the last one and the riding into the sun set one…

    “I did not have a camera back in the day and I will never go back to click a picture.”…i know what u mean…somethings always seem more beautiful in ur mind’s ete doesn’t it!

    1. Yup they do Nuttie.. Now all these years later I don’t want to spoil the picture I have in my mind..what if the truth does not matchup? 🙂

      As for the last picture..I love watching the night sky when the sun is going down or rising while flying.

      A trip to India is always amazing because as the sun is going down in this part of the world, there is sun rising in the next part of the world..and this is what I fly to for 6 hours or so. Makes the journey a lot tolerable.. 🙂

  4. Brilliant work at capturing the changing forms of clouds with varying mood swings of the evenings and changing temper and colors of the skies 😀 😀

    Can’t have enough of these brilliant shots, need to come back again and again to soak in their majestic beauty 😀 😀

    Keep ’em coming Comfy 🙂

  5. I belong to the sunset lovers club too 😀
    Gorgeous pics Comfy! I hv already seen them so many times 🙂
    Watching the sun play from the steps of a lake must hv been bliss 🙂

  6. Gorgeous pictures! Sunset really gets the best out of photographers, doesn’t it? Loved all your pics! And your blog too! Will lurk around here more often! 🙂

  7. ur pics are breathtaking! i love sunsets too and marvel the ease with which u have managed to catch the beauty & grandeur of it!

    long time lurker here…this post i had to comment on!

    i love all ur travel thursday posts btw!! 🙂

  8. I am also transfixed with the multiple ways the sun departs from us each day. I have posted some of my shots and have enjoyed yours. I will stop back and see what you are seeing… thanks!

Leave a Reply

