Travel Thursday – Ski Slopes

As you stand atop a snow-capped mountain and look around on a clear day, everything seems to glow, the sun rays hit all mountains around and make the snow shine pristine white. You can’t help but be moved by the beauty around, gape in wonderment, feel blessed for being there.

Top of the mountain

But let’s rewind a bit..just a small bit. How do you get atop a snow-capped mountain? Simple. You drive to a ski resort. But a lift ticket, strap on your skis or snowboards and board one of the chairs on a chair lift. The network of cables set up chairs (yes chairs, they are open) which seat anywhere between 2 to 6 people, depending on the resort, take you, real slow, up a mountain. All you do is sit back and enjoy. Well, it took me a while to get to the stage of sit back and enjoy bit. Initially, I was too concerned about the getting off the chair bit to enjoy anything. But once I got the hang of getting down without my backside meeting the snow-covered ground, I did start enjoying my journey up.

The view on your way up is amazing. You get to see the tress and the various mountain features from a different angle. You get to see people of different experience level coming down the slope. And you get to sit with some real awesome strangers on your journey up, who all share your love for the outdoors and are excited to be there.

Getting to the top

Once on top and off the chair everyone disperses in different directions. There are snow tracks coming down the mountain for every difficulty levels. For most parts as I look around and enjoy the view, D goes investigating.

There are some areas that are roped off. Meaning they are too dangerous and should not be used by anyone. But does that stop everyone? Well not really and you do see a couple of people making their way around the rope.

Roped off area

Then is the expert level slopes most commonly called the ‘Black Diamond’ run. Steep steep slopes which I stay far, far away from. But something D thrives on, so I leave him to those.

Expert level slope

I turn around and make my way towards the intermediate slopes, called the ‘Blue Slopes’. And just about the time when I am having a tough time making my way down a particularly difficult section of the slope, I always spy a 8-9 year old zipping past me. I look around sheepishly, thinking to myself, ‘What am I doing here? I don’t belong’. And then I look around again at the beauty and my spirit picks up. So what if I am not too good, I do manage to make my way down and I love the feeling of being on a slope.

Intermediate Slope

Sometime added incentive comes in form of D crashing. That too on a simple slope. And I love to rub it in. And sometimes am extra lucky for being able to capture a proof of this crash. What fun πŸ‘Ώ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

D hits a bump

And so goes the day. Getting to the bottom and taking the chair back up. Finally the lifts close for the day, everyone hits the common area for some drinks and Nachos (with extra cheese). Sometimes there is live music, making the winding down process all the more fun.

Live music to end the day

And no I will not talk about the sour muscles that hurt for a week after. Nope not talking about that. No way.

30 thoughts on “Travel Thursday – Ski Slopes

    1. I need to thank D for all of this BM. He is a total outdoors person and loves all these kinds of things. Imagine he learned to ski and snowboard in India.

      I just go along with him. Give things a try and return or not based on how I like them. πŸ™‚

      Sea is difficult since I can’t swim. But snorkeling is a lot of fun. Pics maybe next time πŸ™‚

  1. πŸ™‚ I’ve been skiing only once. I was too scared of falling down and stuff, was too cautious in the beginning….that takes out all the fun, I tell you :D. But it got to be nice towards the end of the day when I got over the fear (at least a little bit of it) :D…

    I felt so bad seeing all the little ones zip through without any fear. And there I was hoping not to fall (again) and trying to keep it together πŸ˜€ The fun part is when a little kid offers help at times when we fall πŸ˜†

    Lovely pics, Comfy πŸ™‚

    1. Oh let me tell you about this time..I was standing in line to get on the ski chair and there was this 4-5 year old insisting with her Mom that she wanted to go on the Blue slope..and her mom kept saying no..

      So the li’l girl says: ‘I can do it Mommy. I am not scared’
      Her Mom loved always and said very softly: ‘But I am scared of going on a Blue slope πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      That is how kids are. They are fast learners and not scared. The older we get the tougher it is for us.

  2. Wow!! What a coincidence that we both thinking of snow capped peaks for our respective WW. NEver been skiiing, although I want to. And I am afraid of falling down and breaking my bones. 😦 Think I should tick it off my to do list before my bones get too fragile.

    1. I love snow capped mountains and live in a place where I see them all around on a clear day. πŸ™‚
      But yeah seems like they are on a lot of our minds. Divz also as them for her WW and are a must see πŸ™‚

      Oh give skiing a try..it’s not that bad..You won’t break a bone..trust me πŸ™‚

  3. Lovely pics and I like the way how you desribe them. Have you ever tried taking Buzz for skiing? I am asking this for the sake of my niece and nephew. They are in US as well, they are 3 yrs old. My sis thinks that they are too young to go skiing now.

    1. Buzz is much too young to go skiing. But 3 yrs is the perfect age to introduce kids to the sport.

      The ski resort where I learned to ski use to have classes starting at 3 years. Kids that age learn real quick as they have a low center of gravity and hence don’t fall as much, plus they know no fear.

  4. I too am in the long line of people who’ve never skied.
    Though after seeing the wonderful pictures you’ve posted and the tons of fun you guys had, I would love to give it a try for sure.

    Though there aren’t too many places in Australia to ski πŸ™‚

    Enjoying life outdoors is the way to live…I simply love it all πŸ˜€

    Love your travel Thursdays Comfy πŸ˜€

    Cheers!!

  5. I’ve yet to try skiing and these snaps make me want to ski down a mountain rightaway!

    Turning green with envy looking at these pics, with you travelling to awesome places! πŸ™‚

  6. I hv been skiing only once .. in Manali and totally loved it πŸ™‚
    My picture of heaven is that its full of snow and so, any place which hs a lot of it is one πŸ˜‰

    LOL .. it is so much fun when u try to capture a proof of the crash πŸ˜›

    Awesome post again Comfy πŸ™‚ U both sound so much like us … fun-loving πŸ˜€ Me likes πŸ˜‰

    1. Skiing is so much fun is it now πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ ..

      Snow covered mountains are my idea of heaven too.. πŸ™‚

      Capturing the crash and then rubbing it in..is what makes the whole process so much fun 😎

      Me likes too Swaram πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. skiiiiiiiiiii…. i wanna skiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii.. mummyyyyy…

    looking ta everyone’s travel posts i feel like … i feel all the more awwwwwwwwwww i wanna goooo tooo 😦

    1. Dido..you need to move here..pronto.. Then we will all take you with us..and since you will fit into our bags..you will be no extra baggage as well πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

