Strength to carry on..

My team moved offices a few months back, so my 10 minute commute, by foot, to work changed to 15 minutes commute, by car. But with family in town this month I am taking the shuttle to work so that they can have the car for going around at their convenience. And honestly I am having a blast. There is so much of life that you miss when you sit in your car and zip to and back from work.

Like a few days back, I was walking home from the shuttle stop and there was these two women, who had a toddler between them, waiting for the pedestrian light to go green. Owing to the below freezing temperatures, the toddler was all bundled up, barely able to walk. Well the light turned green. The women tried hurrying the little guy along to cross the busy intersection, but the poor guy would not walk fast enough, being unstable on his feet. So what did they do? Each women held one of his hands in their’s..shouted 1. 2. 3. Jump and made his jump forward and so they went propelling him forward at a fast pace. It was such a natural, impromptu action. So full with concern, so harmonious, so much trust. And it brought back memories of my childhood when my parents used to hurry me along in this very same manner, while I used to laugh aloud with glee, feeling totally safe and secure in my little world. I could not keep the grin off my face.

I wrote about another incidence a while back.

Today on my way to work, the song ‘Hero’ by ‘Mariah Carey’ came on, which goes something like:

There’s a hero if you look inside you heart..You don’t have to be afraid of what you are.

There’s an answer, if you reach into your soul, and the sorrow that you know will melt away.

And then a hero comes along, with the strength to carry on..And you cast your fears aside and you know you can survive.

So when you feel like hope is gone..look inside you and be strong.

And you finally see the truth, that the hero lies in you

 It’s been a while since I heard this song. But there are so many memories attached to it, so many happy times, so many sad times attached to this one song.

The Good

  • 5 teenage friends getting down at the Churchgate station and making their way to Sterling theater to see ‘A Walk in the Clouds’..first day first show
  • Drooling at Keanu Reeves throughout the movie.
  • Walking down Marine Drive after the movie..remembering scenes from the movie..giggling like crazy..singing the song.

The Bad

  • The day, weeks, months after my parents dropped me at the hostel.
  • Feeling homesick, missing my parents, getting ragged.
  • Listening to this song on the Walkman in the dead of night, tears streaming down my face.
  • Promising myself, last time..will be strong from tomorrow.

This song is beautiful, powerful, inspirational and I want to dedicate it to a friend of mine who is going through a bad patch right now and to a couple of people whose blog I follow, to whom life is not being real good at this moment.

And while you guys listen drool over Keanu, I am going to enjoy my Shuttle ride..and enjoy every memory it brings..and I am promising myself to get out of my rut of listening to the same old hand full of hindi CDs that I own and start enjoying music again.

11 thoughts on “Strength to carry on..

  1. even i’ve found that i love my train ride, and walk to and from the train stop more than commuting by car…the walk is the time i love the most during the day… :-)..

  2. May be I know nothing about the song. But I can stop by and wish that extra bit of strength to all those needed. Hope the phase gets over soon and life is bright and happy again for all of them. 🙂

  3. Stop looking for sunshine outside the window girl. You got sunshine in your crib! Lucky you! 🙂 Smile! Good wishes to all your blogger buddies!

  4. That’s a wonderful song :d
    A walk in the clouds is one of my all-time favorite movies. Couldn’t agree more on how handsome Keanu Reeves looked in this movie.

    Thanks for bringing to me countless memories attached to this beautiful song and movie.

    Hope you enjoy every bit of your traveling to work and may things change to the way you would love them to be soon 🙂

    Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

