First Appointment

Nothing..not a thing..I had not a single symptoms for the first few weeks..which was kind of scary. The horror stories you hear about Moms-to-be throwing up non-stop, nausea, tiredness..I had no symptoms. Barring the fact that we saw the pink line and a confirmation via blood test, I had no indication of a new life growing inside.

We were planning a trip to Alaska. Tickets had been booked before we found out, reservations made. We were going with 11 of our friends and were really looking forward to the trip. Now with the baby in the mix I waited for my first OBGYN (TT) appointment to see if I could make the trip.

The day of the appointment had a myriad of thoughts running through my head. Got not a single thing done at work (soon came to the realization that afternoon appointments were not conducive to getting any work done). D and I got to TT’s office on time but had to wait for half an hour at the reception and then another 20 or so mins inside. The nurse took my weight, height, blood pressure etc. and explained the baby wellness tests that we had to take and some which were not required but we could still take them if we wanted. She got us through all the paperwork before TT came in.

 TT in her brisk..professional style came..checked the  baby by touching my uterus..said the baby felt as big as a 6 weeks old rather than 6 week 5 days that I though it should be!!..??..(I did not know what to think of this information)..gave me my expected due date..reassured everything looked good..left..end of appointmnet. Not a very reassuring appointment 😦

We did ask if we could make our trip to Alaska and got a go. Camping was OK as well. I could lift weight up to 20 pounds so even the backpacking part of the trip was on.

Also got an appointment for the first ultrasound which would happen soon after we came back from our trip to Alaska. 🙂

2 thoughts on “First Appointment

Leave a Reply

