Being a dad

The day we made our way back from India was one shubh muhrat day. As we drove from our house to the airport there were big pandals, band, baja, barat and fireworks every 20 yards. Buzz looked at the pink and white tents lit up from inside, the sparkles that went boom, the guys with their face covered sitting atop a horse, guys in similar dresses playing tunes with fascination. D started explaining it all to her. Groom, bride, marriage, phera were words that were used. And then came, ‘Long time ago Mumma Papa also got married. Papa came on a..err..in a car and married Mumma.

Aur Buzz bhi thi wahaan pe’*, chimed in Buzz.

No no Buzz was not there’, said D

Then where was Buzz?’

 ‘err..hmm..you know..errr..’, D tried pacifying the super upset Buzz where no answer was the right one. 

I am still laughing!

************************************************

I could hear the two of them talking, D patiently trying to explain something to Buzz. And repeating it over and over again. Some 10 minutes later as Bugz slept I went to see. These two were still at it. Now 3 days later, I can’t for the life of me remember what D was teaching Buzz but what I remember is that he looked at me, smiled and said, ‘If I keep at it, a few minutes every day, she will pick it up soon. I want my girls to be confident and self-reliant.’

Aah the father speaks!

************************************************

I finally got some pictures from the India trip out to my computer. As I was going through them I came across a picture of Buzz with D’s sister. I gasped, ‘Oh my! Buzz looks so much like Didi.’

Don’t say that. Why would you say something like that?’, D said in anger.

err Didi and you have a lot of features in common and Buzz takes after you. So…’

Then say Buzz looks like me. She is my daughter, she looks like ME!’

OK then Dad dear!

************************************************

Buzz sat in D’s lap. There were laughs and hugs and Iloveyous. Suddenly D looked at her and said, ‘If you ever have a boyfriend, he is going to be in so much trouble.’

Dad is having nightmares already!

************************************************

On the other hand: I took Buzz to the doctor’s office. Her pediatrician asked her what she played with?

Papa’, pat comes the reply.

************************************************

*And Buzz was also there

61 thoughts on “Being a dad

  1. he he hehe oooh the boyfriend thing .. OH YES .. my message to D, if he wants help CALL ME , I will come too.. that guy is in for BIG troubleeee 🙂

    and the last reply made me laugh out loud .. play with PAPA yessssssssss 🙂 go get him girl he he he he

    1. I laughed so hard when he said that. I guess I always thought it was something you see in the movies. Never figured guys really feel that way about their daughters 🙂

      1. Abbas is also like that. He keeps telling them often – ‘Whichever guy you like, bring him to me first. You can go ahead only after I give a green signal’ And I say ‘Look who’s talking’ 😀

      2. Comfy..offcourse .. after all they are little princesses and only the bestest of the best for them ALWAYS…

  2. I love watching this father daughter duo at my home…isn’t it so much satisfaction and contentment to see these species bonding so well ? 🙂

    no wonder it is said ‘papa ki pari’ and stuff like that…daughters are dad’s princesses!

    Way to go D dad 🙂

  3. Dh says the same about boyfriends… 🙂 every girl’s first hero is her “dad” and this is so evident in this post…

    three cheers to all the wonderful dads in this world 🙂

  4. Awww.. the father-daughter duo.. let me not start again.. I am witnessing them every single day.. I wonder where did M hide all these emotions so long.. the daughter’s sure have their father’s at the tip of their finger 🙂

  5. What fun Comfy! ( you who witnesses the dad-daughter incidents and we who get to read them)

    The dads do start with the nightmares much ahead of time eh? H took me for an ice cream on our first date and he is already planning to buy a gun to point at the guy who tries to lure Paapu into an ice cream date sometime down the future. Hahahaha!

  6. Aww…I laughed so much at D’s reaction to Buzz’s future boy friend.

    Few days back, my son also asked me the same question. Why was he missing in the wedding pic. He didn’t get convinced with any of the replies. He felt really bad. Then I told him that he fell asleep in his nani’s godhi when the pic was taken, so that is the reason neither of them was in the pic…phew !

    1. When D started out with ‘Mumma and Papa got married’ I tried stopping him but he said he could deal with it. By the end he was sweating and I was laughing like crazy.

      I told you sos are so much fun 😀

  7. ROTFL! The first scenario cracked me up so much.I remember troubling my parents. I was as offended when I realised I was not present at their wedding. They were honest with me. They said I wasn’t born at that time. That kept me quiet for a few years. Until I asked my next question. “How are kids born only after marriage? How does the stomach know you are married or not” 😛

    D sounds like a terrific dad. The little girls are blessed, I am sure 🙂

  8. ‘I want my girls to be confident and self-reliant’ – Cheers to D. Keep them coming! I was laughing when Buzz said she played with Papa.

  9. ROFL.

    I remember looking at my parents’ wedding album eons ago and getting highly upset that I was not ‘invited’ 😀 😀 😀

    D is an awesome dad, i say!! 🙂

  10. Ha ha… Daddy dearest is so protective about dear daughter. Way to go. 🙂 He reminds me of how my Papa was when I was small. Come to think of it, he still is like that. 🙂 He makes scared faces every time I dust my doctor-play-set. He has memories of being the haunted patient. 😀

    1. aww..that is so cute. I can’t wait for Buzz to start something like that with D. I so want to watch them play pretend games together. 🙂

Leave a comment